Work in progress: Sponge cupcake – I’m getting there

Cakes have never been my favorite to eat, sorry. Yes, they’re fun to make, with all the confusing types of sponge cake, butter cake, pound cake, foam cake, gateau, chiffon, and all the different types of sweet cover – icing, frosting, glaze, the list goes on and on… But eating them? They’re a bit too boring for me.

So why bother with sponge cupcakes? Purely childish competition. But anyway…

I tried making cupcakes with whipped cream, somehow they all turned out to be inedible, rubber-like and too buttery. So I experimented with ChiChi Nguyễn‘s recipe using only flour and eggs and a bit of fat. And you know what? After 3 tries, I’m aaaaaaalmost getting there.

  • Ingredients

2 eggs

25g of all purpose flour and 25g of corn starch

(Note 1: Using 50g of flour will make the cupcakes more dense, but also less likely to collapse after baked.)

25g of milk

20g of olive oil

(Note 2: Olive oil can be replaced by melted butter. I love love love butter, it adds the pleasant smell and creamy rich flavor.)

1/2 tea spoon of vanilla extract

1/2 tea spoon cream of tar tar

sugar to taste (I usually use 2 of the 1/3 cup for this much ingredient)

  • Instructions
    • Separate the egg whites and egg yolks
    • In a bowl, beat the egg yolks, milk and olive oil/melted butter
    • Sift the all purpose flour and corn starch into the bowl, whisk until smooth and there’re no longer little curdled egg and flour crumbs.
    • In another bowl, beat the egg whites with a hand mixer (thank God someone invented this, and electricity)
    • Beat on low speed until there are large bubbles (takes me usually 1 minute)
    • Add the cream of tar tar and increase to medium speed. Continue until there are tiny bubbles, takes about another 1 minute
    • Gradually add the sugar in 3 parts while continuing beating on medium speed. Once the sugar is all added, increase the speed 1 more level and continue beating until egg forms soft peak.
    • Now divide the egg whites into 3 parts and fold the egg whites into the mixture of egg yolks and flour.
    • Put the batter into cupcake papers, and bake at 140 degree until set and done.

(Note 3: If the temperature is too high, the cupcakes using this recipe will rise like mount Everest, crack like the Grand Canyon, and shrink like Alice in Wonderland when removed from the oven, resulting in collapsed cupcakes with concave top, bottom, and sides. That’s what happened to me even when I baked the cupcakes at the lowest temperature available in my oven. So my trick, most would find very unconventional and not a good idea, is to put the cupcake papers in a cupcake silicon baking tray, since silicon doesn’t transmit that much heat. Then I put the silicon tray on the lowest rack of the oven, and USE ONLY THE UPPER HEAT OF THE OVEN. It took me 3 experiments, and it worked for me, well, kind of worked for me.)

DSC03403 DSC03405 DSC03406 DSC03407

2 responses to “Work in progress: Sponge cupcake – I’m getting there

  1. these look so soft i wish to sleep on one! in my country we call this mamon. i have never tried making it but would be interesting to see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

