Don’t date a girl who travels

Screw all the date-a-girl-who-do-this-shit articles. This one aims at a straight-forward, non-sugar-coated point of view.

I am not attempting to use sarcasm, or one of those 10-things-I-hate-about-you euphemism. I am gonna be cruel, unflattering, some would even say ridiculous. But no, I travel, so I speak for someone who travels, and someone, who through self evaluation, sees nothing that could be called girlfriend-material in myself.

Don’t date a girl who travels. There’s no porcelain skin, no silky hair, no cherry lips, no sugary voice. Just overly tanned skin with speckles from hours in the sun. Just split, dry hair from the sweat, the wind, and hostel shampoo. No fashion show clothes on her. Just sneakers (dirty, worn-off), jeans (dirty and teary), T-shirts (not even the cute ones).

Don’t date a girl who travels. She leaves you for her own adventures. When you work your ass off in the freezing cold of the Midwest, she is sunbathing in Miami or cosplaying Mulan in Disney World.

Don’t date a girl who travels. She meets various people, she sees various places, she is aware of a bigger world, of more interesting people. She returns from her trips, thirsting for more, and your stories are nothing compared to the around the world tales from that guy with a sexy Italian accent.

Don’t date a girl who travels. She’s restless. She’s scared to remain in one place. She’s scared that she could never see enough of the world. For her, nothing’s enough and nothing’s the limit.

Don’t date a girl who travels. She bores you with her unfamiliar stories of unheard land. She pushes you away with foreign experiences that make you question yourself whether she and you are from the same country.

Don’t date a girl who travels. You never know when she will just pick up her passport and backpack and leave you, empty, shocked, behind. She says she will come back. She says she will be in touch. She says…

Don’t date a girl who travels. She’s selfish. In her plans, there’s hardly you. She’s stubborn. She won’t change for you. You’ll run after her. You’ll be exhausted. You’ll give up.

I was on 3 vacations in the last 3 months, accidentally since I broke up with my most recent “boyfriend”. It was such a luxury for someone who works an office job with tight schedules and deadlines like me. Every time I returned from my vacation, I felt a little better. Every time, I realized I wasn’t ready to share my freedom, my independence, my selfishness. I am still the girl who travels solo, who makes plans by herself, who sweeps everyone else out of her path if they cannot follow. I thrive alone. I live in the world of aloneness. As much as I want to meet someone who I could set aside my selfishness, to change everything, including and especially myself, a part of me doesn’t want that change. A part of me wants to remain forever free and no string attached.

So don’t date me – a girl who travels.

Leave a Reply

